top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIene Herman

Exploring Piran and its surroundings

English:

I have been in the beautiful Piran for 3 weeks now and I really enjoy walking through the city or along the beach. Last weekend I went to visit the 'Walls of Piran'. This is located at the very top of the mountain, giving you a beautiful view of the entire city. You can see this in the pictures below. The next day I walked to the city to drink a coffee. While searching for a cafe I came across an aquarium and a shell museum. Of course I went to visit it after drinking my coffee. The aquarium was not large, but had a number of beautiful specimens of fish species, corals, shellfish and of course jellyfish. The shell museum was also very interesting. When I was walking back to my house, I saw a beautiful sunset as you can see in the photos below.


This week I went to the university nearby. There I spoke to a few local students with the question whether there were student activities that I could join and if they knew if there were international students. There I was immediately put in contact with a mentor from the school who added me to a Facebook- and WhatsApp group with other international students taking classes at this university. On Thursday I went to drink something with them in a wine bar in Portorož. It was great to meet these people. Yesterday we went for a walk to Strunjan. It was a hike with steep slopes of the mountains and the plain side on the beach, but the view was phenomenal. In the evening we ate some dishes and desserts typical for Slovenia and Italy made by a Slovenian and an Italian student. It was a nice day!

Today, carnival was celebrated in Portorož. That is why we went to the city to enjoy the ambiance. Here with carnival they chase the winter out of the country and celebrate the arrival of the summer. The carnival atmosphere had been in the city for the whole week. There is confetti everywhere and a lot of people were already dressed up. The people here are doing their very best to wear a costume so original. For example, there was a man dressed as a toilet, his wife as toilet paper and their child dressed like a shit. This was great and really funny to see. On a square in Portorož we saw a Brazilian dance spectacle as seen on the pictures below. It was a successful week.



Nederlands:

Ondertussen ben ik al 3 weken in het prachtige Piran en ik vind het enorm leuk om te wandelen doorheen de stad of langs het strand. Vorig weekend ben ik de 'Walls of Piran' gaan bezoeken. Deze bevindt zich helemaal bovenaan de berg waardoor je een mooi uitzicht hebt over de volledig stad. Dit kan je zien in de foto's hieronder. De dag erna ben ik naar de stad gewandeld om gezellig een koffie te drinken. Tijdens het zoeken naar een café kwam ik een aquarium tegen en een schelpmuseum. Na het drinken van mijn koffie ben ik deze natuurlijk gaan bezoeken. Het aquarium was niet groot, maar had een aantal mooie exemplaren van vissoorten, koralen, schelpdieren en natuurlijk ook kwallen. Het schelpmuseum was ook zeer interessant. Toen ik terug naar mijn verblijf aan het wandelen was zag ik een mooie zonsondergang zoals je ook kan zien in de foto's hieronder.



Deze week ben ik naar de universiteit vlakbij gegaan. Daar sprak ik een aantal lokale studenten aan met de vraag of er studentenactiviteiten zijn waar ik aan kon deelnemen en of ze wisten of er internationale studenten aanwezig waren. Daar werd ik meteen in contact gesteld met een mentor van de school die mij heeft toegevoegd aan een Facebook- en WhatsAppgroep met andere internationale studenten die lessen volgen aan deze universiteit. Op donderdag ben ik iets gaan drinken met hen in een wijnbar in Portorož. Het was enorm leuk om deze mensen te ontmoeten. Gisteren zijn we samen een wandeling gaan maken naar Strunjan. Het was een wandeling met steile hellingen van de bergen en de vlakte van aan het strand, maar het uitzicht was fenomenaal. In de avond aten we een aantal gerechten en desserten typisch voor Slovenië en Italië gemaakt door een Sloveense en een Italiaanse student. Het was een leuke dag!

Vandaag werd ook in Portorož carnaval gevierd. Daarom zijn we met een aantal de stad ingetrokken om mee te genieten van de sfeer. Hier jagen ze met het carnavalsfeest de winter uit de land en vieren ze de komst van de zomer. De sfeer rond carnaval was al heel de week in de stad te zien. Er ligt overal confetti en enorm veel mensen liepen al verkleed rond. De mensen hier doen zeer hard hun best om een zo origineel kostuum te dragen. Zo was er een man verkleed als een toilet, zijn vrouw als toiletpapier en hun kind was verkleed als een drol. Dit was enorm leuk en grappig om te zien. Op een plein in Portorož zagen we een Braziliaans dansspektakel zoals te zien op de foto's hieronder. Het was een geslaagde week.


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page