top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIene Herman

My first days

Updated: Feb 19, 2019

English:

I stay in an accommodation of my internship. I share the kitchen and the space for the laundry for the time being with three other international students. Besides that I have a comfortable bed, a private bathroom, plenty of closet space, a view of the sea and a cleaning lady who cleans my room every Saturday and gives me fresh towels. I certainly can not complain here!

I am following an internship at the Marine Biology Station in Piran where I will participate in a project with jellyfish. For the time being, there are no jellyfish in the area because of the winter period, so the research can not start yet. As part of my internship I can join the boat to catch the jellyfish. I will do this Wednesday and Thursday. I look forward to it and am curious if there will be a number of jellyfish.


Together with Anton (German student: water management) and Isabelle (American PhD student: film and digital media) brought Tjaša (Slovenian colleague: works in the marine biology station) us to a number of tourist attractions. Piran is also called the town of salt and that is why we went to visit the salt pans on Saturday. Here, salt is still produced using age-old methods. On Sunday we visited the Postojna Cave and the Castle of Predjama. Both worth to see! It was a very impressive and interesting weekend that we ended with a dinner in Ljubljana.



Nederlands:

Ik verblijf in een accommodatie van mijn stageplaats. Ik deel de keuken en de ruimte voor de was voorlopig met drie andere internationale studenten. Daarnaast heb ik een comfortabel bed, een eigen badkamer, veel kastruimte, zicht op zee en een kuisvrouw die elke zaterdag mijn kamer kuist en me verse handdoeken geeft. Ik kan hier zeker niet klagen!

Ik volg stage in het Mariene Biology Station in Piran waar ik zal deelnemen aan een project met kwallen. Voorlopig zijn er, door de winterperiode, nog geen kwallen in de buurt waardoor het onderzoek nog niet kan beginnen. Als onderdeel van mijn stage mag ik mee op de boot om de kwallen te gaan vangen. Dit zal ik woensdag en donderdag doen. Ik kijk er naar uit en ben benieuwd of er al een aantal kwallen zullen zijn.


Samen met Anton (Duitse student: watermanagement) en Isabelle (Amerikaanse PhD student: film en digitale media) bracht Tjaša (Sloveense collega: werkt in het mariene biologie station) ons naar een aantal toeristische trekpleisters. Piran wordt ook wel de zoutstad genoemd en juist daarom zijn we op zaterdag de zoutpannen gaan bezoeken. Hier wordt tegenwoordig nog steeds zout op een eeuwenoude methode geproduceerd. Zondag zijn we de Postojna Cave gaan bezichtigen en het Kasteel van Predjama. Beiden de moeite waard om te zien! Het was een zeer indrukwekkend en interessant weekend die we hebben afgesloten met een etentje in Ljubljana.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page