top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIene Herman

And so the adventure begins

English:

Yesterday was my first day here in Piran and it was exhausting. Short: my flight was delayed, I had a 2 hour ride from the airport to Piran, I got lost after the taxi dropped me off at a local busstation and the store wasn't open so I couldn't buy any food. BUT after unpacking my suitcases I went for a walk through Piran and the view made my day so much better. It is beautiful here!


Today I found a store nearby but it's hard to find the right things because the text on the packages are in Slovenian. Even though the inhabitants of slovenia hardly speak and understand English, they are really friendly and they try to help me when I can't find something.

In the afternoon, I went for a walk -again-. Not just to get a breath of fresh air and to enjoy the view like yesterday, but to discover. For example, I have found 2 universities -where in the course of next week I will check if there are student activities-, a swimming pool, cozy restaurants and cafes, different museums, the port of Piran, ...


Tomorrow my internship starts. I'm expected at 10 am for a tour, explanation of the labrules and my tasks. I already feel like it! Meanwhile I will enjoy the peace here in my room and in Piran.



Nederlands:

Gisteren was mijn eerste dag hier in Piran en het was vermoeiend. Kort: mijn vlucht was vertraagd, ik had een 2 uur lange rit van de luchthaven naar Piran, ik verdwaalde nadat de taxi mij had afgezet aan een lokaal busstation en de winkel was niet open waardoor ik gaan eten kon kopen. MAAR nadat ik mijn valiezen had uitgepakt en volledig was geïnstalleerd ging ik een wandeling maken in Piran en het uitzicht heeft mijn dag zoveel beter gemaakt. Het is hier prachtig!


Vandaag heb ik een winkel dichtbij gevonden, maar het is moeilijk om de juiste dingen te vinden aangezien de tekst op de verpakkingen in het Sloveens staat. Hoewel de inwoners van Slovenië moeilijk Engels spreken en begrijpen, zijn ze erg vriendelijk en proberen ze me te helpen wanneer ik iets niet kan vinden.

In de namiddag ging ik -opnieuw- een wandeling maken. Niet om zoals gisteren even uit te waaien en te genieten van het zicht, maar echt om dingen te ontdekken. Zo heb ik 2 universiteiten gevonden -waar ik in de loop van volgende week eens ga kijken of er studentenactiviteiten zijn-, een zwembad, gezellige restaurants en cafés, verschillende musea, de haven van Piran,...


Morgen begint mijn stage. Ik word verwacht om 10 uur voor een rondleiding, uitleg over de regels in het labo en wordt mijn takenpakket uitgelegd. Ik heb er alvast zin in! Ondertussen zal ik nog even genieten van de rust hier op mijn kamer en in Piran.

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page